PETERLEE TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the **Town Council** meeting held on **Monday 16**th **December 2024** at 6.30pm in the Council Chamber, Shotton Hall, Peterlee.

Present: Councillor D. Howarth (Mayor) and Councillors J. Black, R. Burnip, M. Cartwright,

K. Duffy, T Duffy, B. Fishwick, S Franklin, D. Hawley, A. Laing, S McDonnell,

R. Moore, M. Sanderson, R. Scott, S. Simpson and A. Stockport

Also Present: Ian Hall (Chief Officer and Town Clerk) and David Anderson (Locum Democratic

Services Manager)

Two members of the public were in attendance.

C.119/24 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were offered from Councillors K. Liddell, M. McCue, K Hawley, and A Meikle.

RESOLVED: That the apologies be noted.

C.120/24 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None submitted

C.121/24 CO-OPTION OF MEMBERS

Members noted that applications had been received from the following candidates for co-option:

- 1. Edenhill Ward: Mary Bell and Mary-Lynn Franklin
- 2. Howletch Ward: Robert Adcock-Forster and Matthew Thomas Tough

Each candidate gave a presentation introducing themselves to the Council, giving information on their background and experience and explain why they wished to become a member of the Town Council.

Following the presentations the candidates and members of the public withdrew from the meeting while members deliberated on the merits of each candidate.

On a vote being taken the following members were co-opted to the Town Council.

- 1. Edenhill Ward: Mary-Lynn Franklin
- 2. Howletch Ward: Matthew Thomas Tough

RESOLVED 1. That Mary-Lynn Franklin be co-opted to the Eden Hill Ward

2. That Matthew Thomas Tough be co-opted to the Howletch Ward.

At the conclusion of the meeting the co-opted members signed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office.